Sailing boat rent Atlantic Freedom 58 in Flisvos Marina, Athens

18 reviews

General maintenance
8
Comfort
9
Cleanliness
8
Hospitality
9
Value for money
9
Skipper
9
Harbour
8
  • Everything was amazing!
    The captain and skipper were the best! Extremely attentive to our needs. Meals prepared by the captain were delicious. I don’t know how they managed to do so much while sailing and tending the boat. They are really caring of all sailors on the boat and helped me through sea sickness. Absolutely loved these guys!!!

    The boat owner responded to this comment:

    We miss you my friends!
    Kelsey N.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Jul 1, 2018

  • Thank you for your review, Pad!
I want to remind all future sailing travelers that all sailing boats have a speed of 6 to 7 miles per hour so the daily journey they can make cannot exceed 5-6 hours without stopping at a port for the necessary supplies and the rest of the commander responsible for the boat and the safety of the occupants.
This means that a sailing vessel has no destination like a liner ship.
Sailing holidays means enjoyment and fun near the sea and if Greece has more than 3000 islands we choose the best route depending on the weather, of course, trying to fulfill the wishes of the customer. Traveling a sailing boat to Mykonos means that we will have at least 2 stops on intermediate islands for the necessary rest and the necessary supplies (fuels, water).
In the case of this 4-day fare, at the request of the customers that they definitely had to be in one day in Mykonos island (110 miles away from Flisvos Athens) and trying to thank them, we agreed to go beyond the limits and do so. This meant a journey of at least 22 consecutive hours in difficult weather conditions that eventually forced us to stop the effort at the safe harbor of Syros. I note that there were 2 skippers, hostesses and sailor onboard (listed in the crew list) who were certified and experienced as not only they were holders of an open sea skipper diploma but also with a captain A’ certificate with many years of experience to all kinds of ships.
The charterers had agreed to travel with the security of a modern ship from the port of Rafina (A’ class perhaps, because the ticket for Mykonos costs 15 euros) without having to suffer 22 hours in the rough sea of 8 beaufort) and of course they were earlier on the island than any sailboat whose speed is 5 times powerless. However, since they did not accept another compromise such as a change of destination or a change in the date of the fare, we were agreed to reimburse 50% of the fare as I was.
As a ship owner and captain A΄ at the merchant navy, I maintain that I was made everything it was humanly possible to carry out the difficult desire of the specific characters and 99% of our satisfied customers supported it as well.
    Pad M.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Jul 17, 2017

  • (Δεν υπάρχει κατι που να αφορά τις υπηρεσίες).
    Εξαιρετική εξυπηρέτηση και συνεργασία! Πριν από το ταξίδι πολύ καλή επικοινωνία για όλα τα θέματα σχετικά τους προορισμούς, τις παροχές και τις δυνατότητες που είχαμε. Την ημέρα του ταξιδίου - αν και ο καιρός ήταν γενικά άστατος - ο καπετάνιος και η γυναίκα του μας βοήθησαν στα πάντα έτσι ώστε να έχουμε την καλύτερα δυνατή εμπερία με άψογη συνεννόηση και ενδιαφέρον. Κάθε στιγμή υπήρχε και κάτι ακόμα που εμπλούτιζε την εμπειρία μας (βόλτα με τα κανό, κεράσματα, karaoke). Μπορώ να πω ότι αν και έβρεχε καταρακτοδώς μετά το μεσημέρι ήταν από τις καλύτερες και πιο όμορφες στιγμές που έχουμε ζήσει σαν παρέα. Ευχαριστούμε incredublue και κυρίως εσάς Cpt Βασίλη και Χαρά. Μέχρι την επόμενη φορά λοιπόν....
    Evangelos P.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Jun 18, 2017

  • The trip started as a 4 days dream sail to Mykonos island with people arriving from 3 countries for the experience of sailing. Captain Vasilis agreed to take us to Mykonos from Floisvos port in Athens. It was agreed that on the boat would be captain Vasilis , one more skipper and a hostess. Plan was to check-in on Thursday at 6PM, 4 people from Athens and 3 more people would fly to Mykonos from abroad meeting us on the island. On Wednesday, a day before the check-in time, captain asked us to alter the plan and all 7 people travel to Mykonos by ferry instead, as he claimed that: (a) he wanted to depart earlier in the morning and optimize trip for weather conditions, (b) they would travel faster as due to expected winds, we (the passengers) would suffer and delay the trip. According to his proposal, we would meet in south Mykonos, as north winds were expected during the weekend. Captain also committed that -taking also into account the weather forecast- he would be at the island by Friday noon. We agreed on this suggestion and paid extra ~€200 for the Ferry tickets. The problems started from the next day, as the boat crew did not depart early on Thursday but decided to take their time and leave Athens @6.30 PM (later even than our initial check-in time), compromising in this way their prompt arrival at Mykonos by Friday noon. Furthermore, captain Vasilis decided that it was a good idea to relax one more day in Athens and let the other less experienced skipper travel alone with the hostess (a decision that had detrimental effect later). On Friday morning we all arrived to Mykonos, called the boat crew at 11AM and to our surprise and disappointment realized that: - The boat was stuck in Syros island (4 hours away from Mykonos), - Captain Vasilis was in Athens (!) while only his wife and the second skipper were on board despite the agreement for two skippers to be on board from first moment! This was the main reason for the boat not making it to Mykonos, as the second skipper needed a second pair of hands to manage sails (given a sea/wind of around 6 Beaufort). - When we called the skipper, he said he couldn’t guarantee that he could make it to Mykonos within the day Nevertheless, captain Vasilis said that he would come to the island the next day (Saturday, 36 hours after agreed meeting time) to meet us and have us sign some kind of documents The whole situation was just a drama, 7 people with luggage at hand with no accommodation, stuck in a cafe, losing valuable holiday time, with no commitment on the timely arrival of the boat. Obviously, we had to look for last minute accommodation; a challenging task that led to expensive bookings in different locations for the first and rest days (something that added inconvenience to our trip). Further to that, we had to top up our expenses bill with a 7-seater car and of course additional meals and drinks on the island (we were supposed to have part of our meals and drinks on the yacht). Total bill of additional expenses due to boat’s failure to arrive: over €3000 !! It is noteworthy that the boat didn’t make it to the island neither on Friday nor on Saturday. Nevertheless, captain Vasilis would never accept to refund the amount of €2850. He even backed out from an initial offer for a 50% refund, coming back with worse and worse proposals down to a partial refund of up to €1000 (!) trying to bargain his position to the last dime!! In other words, he wanted us to lose in a glance over 1850 Euros for a service we never received, not caring at all for all the inconvenience and extra expenses he has caused. Outrageously, he even had the nerve to ask for the expenses of the alleged supplies (food and drinks) that he claimed he bought; but on the same time, he never handed over to us these supplies!!! TOTAL LACK OF PROFESSIONALISM! All above made us really enraged! We have contacted Incrediblue stating the issue and unprofessional behavior, while we even had initial contacts with lawyers to request for compensation. Finally, Incrediblue indeed tried to help and solve the situation by convincing captain Vasilis to return €1200 Euros (an offer we reservedly accepted), while they returned their commission and also offered as compensation an additional commission free trip. The difference in attitude and professionalism between the two parties was indeed paramount. It also noteworthy that several yachts made it to the island that weekend, while the waves at the south of Mykonos were hardly … a few centimeters! And that would be the expectation, as sailing yachts are designed to travel with really bad weather conditions (assuming 2 skippers on board). So if you want to be assured that ‘bad weather’ or ‘over relaxation’ will not ruin your planned dream trip consider to book and look elsewhere. Otherwise you are in danger to lose your money and most importantly your valuable happy holiday mood and time. We are not enjoying leaving bad reviews but it is our duty to inform and protect next customers. Our Total loss of choosing Captain Vasilis and boat “Atlantic Freedom 58” for a 4 day sail trip was several thousands of Euros. Do you want to risk it??
    Nothing!!! The boat was never arrived on the agreed destination which was on Mykonos island. We paid a big amount of money (almost €3000) for a service we never received, lost a big part of our planned holiday, while a whole group of 7 people was left with no accommodation on the busiest and most expensive island of Greece. To all reviewers: be mindful that this yacht may not make it to your destination even with a 6 Beaufort wind (a typical weather for Aegean Sea during July and August) or for any other reason and will refuse to fully refund you in this case! It’s like your pre-booked taxi doesn’t make it to your appointment or your flight operator does not allow you to onboard their overbooked plane, but still request a fee for the service (which they did not offer)! You ‘d better try your luck on the lottery!

    The boat owner responded to this comment:

    Thank you for your review, Pad!
 First of all I want to tell you and to all my future guests that you never sail with us to have objective point of view,instead you give us this review after that I send you the total refund as we had agreed , when you decided not to come in the boat cause in bad weather conditions. You call me to cancel the trip and ask me a refund as I did. I want to remind all future sailing travelers that all sailing boats have a speed of 6 to 7 miles per hour so the daily journey they can make cannot exceed 5-6 hours without stopping at a port for the necessary supplies and the rest of the commander responsible for the boat and the safety of the occupants.
This means that a sailing vessel has no destination like a liner ship.
Sailing holidays means enjoyment and fun near the sea and if Greece has more than 3000 islands we choose the best route depending on the weather, of course, trying to fulfill the wishes of the customer. Traveling a sailing boat to Mykonos means that we will have at least 2 stops on intermediate islands for the necessary rest and the necessary supplies (fuels, water).
In the case of this 4-day fare, at the request of the customers that they definitely had to be in one day in Mykonos island (110 miles away from Flisvos Athens) and trying to thank them, we agreed to go beyond the limits and do so. This meant a journey of at least 22 consecutive hours in difficult weather conditions that eventually forced us to stop the effort at the safe harbor of Syros. I note that there were 2 skippers, hostesses and sailor onboard (listed in the crew list and sighed from port authorities ) who were certified and experienced as not only they were holders of an open sea skipper diploma but also with a captain A’ certificate with many years of experience to all kinds of ships.
The charterers had agreed to travel with the security of a modern ship from the port of Rafina (A’ class perhaps, because the ticket from Rafina to Mykonos costs 15 euros) without having to suffer 22 hours in the rough sea of 8 beaufort) and of course they were earlier on the island than any sailboat whose speed is 5 times powerless. However, since they did not accept another compromise such as a change of destination or a change in the date of the fare, we were agreed to cancel the trip and reimburse 50% of the fare as I was.
 As a ship owner and captain A΄ at the merchant navy, I maintain that I was made everything it was humanly possible to carry out the difficult desire of the specific characters and 99% of our satisfied customers supported it as well.
    Pad M.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Jul 24, 2017

  • Nothing, keep doing what you are doing!
    One of the best experiences we ever had! Captain Alex and his brother were excellent, accommodating all our requests and organizing a perfect trip. The boat was very spacious and with lot's of space on the upper part to relax, sunbathe and dance! There is also a big speaker on the deck connected to a microphone and an AUX cable, ideal for karaoke nights and non-stop music! Would highly recommend it to everyone. Can't wait for our next trip with Atlantic Freedom!
    Panos N.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Jul 9, 2017

  • We had a wonderful time with Vassilis and his family. The boat is large and comfortable, but by far the best thing was the captain himself, his lovely wife who was an amazing cook, and their obliging son Panos. Together they catered to our every need, and worked hard to ensure we had a lovely time. Definitely recommend them, and would come again.
    Artemis S.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Aug 21, 2017

  • Captain Alex and Hara were very warm and welcoming ... We had an amazing time :) they were very generous and extremely hospitable ... Alex took us to outstanding islands and was very professional in dealing with strong waves :)
    Zeena M.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Sep 25, 2016

  • We rented the boat for a day trip and had a wonderful time. Chara, Alex and Panos are very heartwarming and welcoming and lovely hosts. We highly recommend to make that amazing experience yourself!

    The boat owner responded to this comment:

    Thank you so much !
    Edyta L.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Jul 22, 2018

  • Εξαιρετική φιλοξενία. Η κα χαρά, ο κος Γιωργος και ο Πάνος ήταν προθυμοι να μας εξυπηρετησουν σε όλα!

    The boat owner responded to this comment:

    Ευχαριστούμε ! Είσαστε η καλύτερη παρέα!
    Ειρηνη Σ.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Jul 3, 2018

  • Captain and crew were really helpful and served us in a great way. We had fun on the boat, the food was great and we went to the places we really wanted to.
    Apostolis M.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Sep 11, 2015

  • The crew was amazing. They went above and beyond and I would highly recommend them to everyone I know.
    Lindsay Q.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Jul 4, 2017

  • It was a pleasure to meet that lovely company. Miss you!!!
    Artemis S.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Aug 13, 2017

  • Thank you guys! We missed you !!! Until next time...
    Kimon T.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Jul 18, 2017

  • -
    Lazaros S.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Aug 20, 2018

  • There is no comment for this review
    Karlen .

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Aug 25, 2016

  • There is no comment for this review
    Kimon T.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Jul 19, 2017

  • There is no comment for this review
    Nikos

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Jun 19, 2018

  • There is no comment for this review
    Τσίγας Χ.

    sailed with this Atlantic Freedom 58

    Published Aug 21, 2018

Contact 
Vasilis
Vasilis
Nautal is using cookies to guarantee you the best user experience.
If you keep using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. More information.